Living in the dormitory means having no access to good food, so I took the opportunity to cook up some healthy dishes for myself in my stay in Cebu. I flew back in from Manila again (yet another long weekend) last Friday, and I stopped by Gourdo’s World Market in The Fort before going to the airport and purchased red kidney beans, so I took them and decided it was going to be my “main ingredient” for lunch the next day. After, I indulged in Tomato Basil Spaghettini from California Pizza Kitchen… sneakily.

I knew that Cebu meant comfort food for me during dinner, so that meant easing on my lunch a bit. I decided to make my own colorful Broccoli and Beans Salad for a light lunch!

I asked for the help of our cook (such a pro on the chopping board, damn) – and by help I mean I just stood by and watched her do the things necessary since my involvement would only delay my lunch (and I wouldn’t want that…)

Here’s the recipe incase anyone wants to try it. Reminder though, I’m not saying that it’s the best Broccoli and Beans Salad out there, and I am NO expert in the kitchen at all. It’s the first dish I decided on what ingredients to use, and I’m sure it could use a lot more improvement, but I’m satisfied with what I came up with on my own! The result? A stuffed, healthy stomach!

Ingredients (1 serving)

¼ cup of dark red kidney beans, dry

2 small broccoli heads (or 1 big broccoli head), cut into florets

1 small onion, diced

3-4 tomatoes, sliced

1 tbsp of basil leaves, chopped

½ lemon

½ tbsp of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (I used Bertolli)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

On the night before (or hours before, if you’re going for dinner) rinse the beans with water repeatedly, and drain them. After you’ve drained them, store in a container, add in about a cup of water, and leave it overnight for about 6-8 hours.

After 6-8 hours, rinse them one last time and drain. Next, boil them in medium heat for about 1 ½ to 2 hours or until you’ve reached the desired tenderness of the beans.

I had the broccoli steamed for about 3-5 minutes, and then covered the broccoli in ice after steaming. According to my cook, this makes the broccoli crunchy (and it did!) This step is completely optional though, so you can choose to eat the broccoli raw or any way you like. After about 15-20 minutes, transfer them to your plate or bowl.

Once the beans are tender and ready, grab a pan and set to medium heat; add in 1/2 tbsp of EVOO, and add in the beans and the onions. Add in tomatoes last. Add in salt and pepper (up to you) to taste, and serve it over the bed of broccoli you’ve got on your plate/bowl, sprinkle those basil leaves over and squeeze the lemon, toss, and eat!

For dinner, I went over to Pizzeria Michelangelo – literally about half a kilometer away from my house and ordered some food. It’s been there for quite some time now I think, but I never tried it until last night. I ordered Minestrone and Vegetariana Pizza for myself.

The Minestrone, clear soup with vegetables (towards a tomato base I think?), doesn’t look so good but it tasted great! It wasn’t salty at all, and the vegetables were NOT soggy despite being in soup. How often do you encounter that?

The Vegetariana Pizza, though, could have been better in my opinion. It’s hard not to compare to another neighborhood pizzeria over at Giuseppe, which I just ordered a week ago (I didn’t post it up, Katrina borrowed my camera on that day.)

Michelangelo’s Vegetariana Pizza pales in comparison to Giuseppe’s Vegetariana Pizza, which was so packed with toppings, full of flavor and a very very crunchy crust! You know those pizza commercials where you see the cheese ooze and stick to your teeth when you take that first bite? Yeah. Giuseppe’s Vegetariana Pizza was that good.

Vegetariana from Michelangelo on the other hand, quickly got cold, it was kind of bland, the cheese quite dry and it lacked flavor. Tabasco kind of helped me cope with that.

Comparing the prices though, it cost me only PhP320 for this 15” pizza, while Giuseppe’s cost PhP480 at 13” – so I guess if you take cost into consideration… it really wasn’t that bad. It’s just hard not to compare, when both pizzerias are literally within 300 meters of each other!

It’s a Sunday today, and I haven’t had dinner. Let’s see where tonight’ll take me!

Til next time! 😀

